fbpx
magdalena

my story – beyond what you can find on LinkedIn

I thank you for wanting to get to know me better. Here are some things you won’t find on LinkedIn, which by the way is one of my very few social media channels, that I use.

I was born in Poland in 1978 but landed in Sweden as a 13-year old. With two entrepreneurs for parents and being an only child I found myself often in my room creating stuff. Creating as in drawing, designing things, painting on my walls and furnitures (they let me, or maybe they didn’t even notice) and as in dancing. My dream was to become a fashion designer and an air force pilot (Top Gun effect? To this day I don’t know) at the same time. My Polish parents thought that a lawyer would be a good profession.

I hold a double master from Lund University: a Master of Laws and a Master in Business Economics. From day one I knew that law was not for me – there was no room for creating anything new. Thus I added economics, which was more up my alley. However, every time someone asked me for the last ten (15?) years, if I had chosen the same path of education given the chance, my answer has always been: “I should have studied psychology”. So since January 2021, I am back at LU to grab that third master of mine. Correcting a mistake? Maybe. Or rather completing a life long mission of finding the exact niche. You see, I am taking everything I have done up to this point, spicing it up with a psychology flavor and creating my own topic: psychology of ideas.

I have always had a soft spot for education. Being a student at a very progressive school as a child in Poland (the highest grade was a 5, however you could get a 6 for creative thinking – how about that!), I have always loved learning. At the age of 13, when I became a badminton trainer, I also discovered my love for teaching. From that moment I have always been teaching something: starting with sports, moving on to group training, then dance, and then business, marketing, entrepreneurship, idea generation and innovation. I was an entrepreneurship teacher at Axelsons Institute for 4,5 years and am involved in creating Sweden’s first full time student loan approved undergrad program in humor. At the time of writing I am creating undergrad education in social entrepreneurship for Nacka Local Council. On my bucket list is teaching at LU. I believe that being skilled in idea generation and innovation is a great fit for a teacher.

I’ve been a business owner since 2009. July of 2017 was an important month for my company as I remodeled it completely and took it online. I was 3 years ahead of Covid, remembering how people would find it strange that I’d suddenly prefer to meet over Zoom. Why is that, you might ask? I adopted a rescue doberman and was not a fan of him having alone time. You see, I am a crazy dog lady.

I am also a minimalist, coffee lover, black t-shirt person – the one that spends her time watching minimalism videos on YouTube although there is nothing more to declutter. Since 2020, I am back in my beloved Skåne after a 15 year visit to Stockholm. I share my life with Martin, an army officer and Zumo, the doberman. I have a tattoo on my arm saying “all I’ve known, all I’ve done, all I’ve felt was leading to this”. Perhaps this is what it all has lead to.